Assessing Consciousness

Glasgow Coma Scale (GCS) is used to assess the level of consciousness of the patient after head injury.

Best motor response (upper extremity)
6 Obeys command
5 Localizes pain
4 Withdraws from stimulus
3 Abnormal flexing
2 Extensor response
1 None

Best verbal response
5 Oriented (makes sentences)
4 Confused speech (words)
3 Gibberish (vocal sounds)
2 Incomprehensible sounds
1 None

Eye Opening4 Spontaneous
3 To speech
2 To pain
1 None

The scale is now used by EMS or Emergency Medical Services.

Related Topic: Health (Cranial Nerves)


aries33 said...

nice site and very informative especially for persons in medical field. We can exchange link if you want? visit mine..

Related Posts with Thumbnails